Senate Announces Farm Bill Conferees; Negotiations to Begin in September

With the end of August recess in sight, September brings the dreaded Farm Bill deadline on the 30th. Without a new Farm Bill, Congress will need to pass an extension of the current one to continue funding for SNAP and other commodity programs.

At the beginning of August, we finally received the names of the Senators who will be leading the charge for a Farm Bill without new work requirements for SNAP recipients. Unfortunately, neither of the Florida U.S. Senators made the cut. Here’s a list of the Senate conferees:

U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow (Michigan)

U.S. Senator Patrick Leahy (Vermont)

U.S. Senator Pat Robert (Kansas)

U.S. Senator John Boozman (Arkansas)

U.S. Senator John Hoeven (North Dakota)

U.S. Senator Joni Ernst (Iowa)

U.S. Senator Heidi Heitkamp (North Dakota)

U.S. Senator Mitch McConnell (Kentucky)

The 9 Senate Conferees will pick up negotiations in September with all 47 House conferees. Conferees must find a solution to satisfy both chambers. The biggest hurdle for the conferees will be the work requirements approved in the House version of the Farm Bill. The Senate passed their version of the Farm Bill without any additional work requirements to SNAP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.